Citation Guides on the Web
- APA 6th Edition Corrections for 1st Printing
- APA Style and Formatting Guide
- MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- CSE (formerly CBE) Documentation Style
- Bluebook 101
- Citing Legal Materials in Social Science Papers - Power Point presentation
- Harvard Style
- Diana Hacker's Research & Documentation Online
- Citation Style Guides for Internet and Electronic Sources
- Citing Sources in APA & MLA
- Citing Online Business Sources in APA
- Citing the DSM: Diagnosic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Managing Citations in Databases
Most databases allow you to store items for later reference.
Store items temporarily
As you scan search results for interesting citations, you may wish to put them in a temporary 'parking lot' that you can go back to when you are done searching the database. These 'parking lots' eventually disappear after you have stopped using the database.
EBSCO
Click the Add to Folder link below each item to move individual citations to the temporary folder. Click the Folder icon at the top of the page to view all items added. From the folder you can print, email, or save records.To use a specific citation style, select the style under Citation Format.
ProQuest
Click the checkbox next to an item to select it. In the menu above the result list, click on View Selected Items. From the next page you can Email, Print, Cite, or Save.
UW Worldcat
Click on the title of the item to view the record. Click on Cite/Export in list of options above the title. Click the plus sign next to the desired citation format, then copy the citation and paste into a word processing or email document.
Store items permanently
EBSCO databases allow you to create an account to save items in your folder permanently. To retrieve items, click on Sign in in the upper right menu.
In UW Worldcat, you can create an account to save items to a list permanently. Select multiple items at once by clicking on the checkbox. At the top of the list, next to Save to, click on Save. To retrieve citations, go to the list and click on the Citation View tab above the first record. Select your citation style and change the Sort by order as needed. In the drop down menu next to Export Selected References, choose Rich Text to save as a Word document.
RefWorks
Refworks is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).
There are two ways to log in to RefWorks:
(with NetID) [UW restricted]
Login to RefWorks (not through NetID screen)
- At home access will require the UW Group Code - RWUWashL
UW HANDOUTS & HELP
- RefWorks Step by Step (PDF)
- Write-n-Cite Step by Step (PDF)
- Using Refworks to Create an Annotated Bibliography in APA (PDF)
- Download Proxy Bookmarklet to access full text at home
- Exporting from Google Scholar
- Exporting citations from databases
- ProQuest and RefWorks
- Tips & FAQs
HANDOUTS FROM REFWORKS
- Using One Line/Cite View - MAC Lion and Write-n-Cite work around
- RefWorks 2.0 QuickStart Guide
- RefWorks 2.0 Fundamentals Workbook
- RefWorks 2.0 Advanced Features Workbook
- Troubleshooting Write-n-Cite Installations problems - MAC | PC
VIDEO TUTORIALS
- RefWorks 2.0 Fundamentals
- Export citations from an EBSCO database into Refworks
- Export citations from WorldCat to RefWorks
- Export citations from ProQuest to RefWorks
- Use Write-N-Cite to create footnotes and a bibliography
INDIVIDUAL CONSULTATIONS
- To schedule in-person training, contact Erica Coe, elcoe@uw.edu, 253-692-4651.
EndNote Web
EndNote Web is a web-based personal citation databases and bibliography creators that allow you to import, store, and share your research citations and automatically format your bibliographies into whatever style you need (APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more).
Login to EndNoteWeb [UW restricted]
- Get
help with EndNote Web
This page provides various ways to get help with EndNote Web. - EndNote Web Help (UW Health Sciences Library).
Free Web Citation Tools
- KnightCiteCitation generator from the Hekman Library
- DocsCiteCitation generator for government documents (APA and MLA styles only) from Arizona State University Libraries.
- ZoteroA free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. See Using Zotero at UW Tacoma Library for installation instructions.

Loading...
